Poll: Which A-Barre chord do you prefer?
Poll Options
View poll results: Which A-Barre chord do you prefer?
The basic A barre
11 28%
The double barre!
26 65%
I can't do any barre chords...
3 8%
Voters: 40.
So, I've been playing for like 3 to 4 years now, but I still am not sure if I'm doing the right thing with my barre chords. Yeah, I know I'm dumb but so what?

Anyway, I'm not talking about the E-chord-based barre chord.

I'm talking about the double barre...

I just wanna know which do you guys prefer most. The first way to hold the chord, or the second way?

The first way, is here... It's the basic A chord with a bar.

The second way is here... It's the double bar!

I'll make a poll too...

As for me, I can do both of them but when I do the double barre, I would mute the high e string... While when I do the normal A chord bar, the first way, I'd get a clear sound, except that in both, the low E string is muted.

So, please fill up the polls?

PS: I'm sorry if the pics are kinda big!
Last edited by KIDRoach at Apr 25, 2008,
When strumming through a load of different chords, I tend to use the double barre method for convenience; but the basic A shape makes changing between the sus2 and major chords easier.
The double barre makes it possible to play suspended chords with your other fingers on a higher fret than the second barre. At least, that's why I learned it that way.
Quote by NovaLau
i almost had a threesome..i just needed 2 more people
I personally prefer the double barre.
New To Town With A Made Up Name

In The Angel's City

Chasing Fortune And Fame
09/03/2012
your not actually playing the A barre chord. thats a D barre chord. (if that was your question)

i'm lazy so double barre for me.
Quote by coolstoryangus
Pffffffft schematics

Although i guess the OP will have to get used to reading them if he's going to buy a bugera..
Quote by gregs1020

along with fire escape routes...

Last edited by aradine at Apr 26, 2008,
^That is not my question.