I've been playing a Monterey Les Paul copy for about 5 years now. Picked it up in early high school because it was affordable. I seriously can't tell you how many problems it has had.

Among other things.. Neck is bent and absolutely retarded. (probably partially my fault, although the high E 16th fret never worked)
Neck is weak and any movement seems to cause a lovely multi string bending effect. haha
Intonation is terrible.
Sound is mediocre at best.

Being a uni student I am really low budget at the moment, however I will be buying a moderately priced metal guitar in the future. In the mean time however.. how would I go putting an EMG 81 or a seymour duncan blackout into this terribad les paul? And once I have done so, can I pull it out again and put it in a new guitar without any degradation or anything?
To be perfectly honest, that really sounds like a waste. Although you would be able to take the pickup out later with no harm done, I think it's pointless. Just save up for the other guitar.

EDIT: I'm saying this because getting an EMG or a blackout isn't a magical solution the will make your guitar sound amazing. If it's a crappy guitar, it'll still sound bad.
ESP Custom Shop 40th Anniversary Eclipse
ESP Standard Eclipse-II
Ibanez AF85VLS
Last edited by OThugSd at Apr 26, 2008,
if i were you i would either

A) trash the guitar you have now
B) sell the parts to buy a better guitar
C) see a guitar tech

if you want the guitar you have now it would be very advisable to see a guitar tech now because the intonation and action problems you are having may be irreversible. at least you may be able to get an estimate on what it would cost to fix, and then you an make an informed dicission. BTW, good luck bro.
i enjoy head
Spend the money on going to a tech and having it set up properly.

If the fretwork is bad, have it fixed. If the neck is bent, have it replaced.