I'm an electric guitarist not a bass.. but I play bass here and there, but don't know too much about it so my question is how do you get this kind of grungey like sound.. like this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIRNdveLnJI
at like exactly 21 seconds into the video it plays..
loads of bands have this kind of sound.. just used this video since you can hear it clearly on that part
but yeahh, how do you get the bass to sound like that?
Um well he's using a pick, and hitting the strings pretty hard. But since I hate bassists who use picks I form a V shape on my amp's equalizer (so that there is powerful bass but the high tones give it a little harsher tone). In other words raise the low and the high on your EQ and keep the mid at a neutral level.
yeah, since I'm a guitarist I usually use a pick..
I figured the highs might kind of make up the sound. sounds like it.
and the hard hitting.
but de-tuning?
hmm.
Last edited by TechnicolorType at Apr 26, 2008,
If you use a bass with a bridge humbucker and a pick, you should get a very close approximation of that sound. However, that's what you'll need. You can't really get that tone otherwise.

Oh, and don't forget to turn down your volume so you're barely heard
Quote by Cody_Grey102
I was looking at a used Warwick Vampyre LTD 5'er for about $200. I went home to grab my wallet and came back and some jerk with an epic beard got it already..
m'kay.. I kind of already had that sound..
just hadn't played bass in so long didn't realize
but yeah thanks for advice, made it sound closerr
thanks everyone
:P
Last edited by TechnicolorType at Apr 26, 2008,
Sounds like the Fliptop model on a Line 6 Pod with a really thin EQ setting to me.
Gear:

Fender Mexi Fat Strat
2005 Taylor 614ce

Fender MIM J-Bass Fretless
Sounds like Korn bassist sound and i doesnt use a pick. He has a strange style of playing he hits his strings (and not like slapping) But hitting hard is key here yes
To Be is to Do -Socrates-
To Do is to Be -Sartre-