Which do you guys prefer? im new to 7s but i feel what i expected to be able to play with them isnt all that much better..eg you can play a 2 octave 3nps scale in one position but this doesnt sound that great compared to sliding up and down the neck etc. Also you cant play barres over 7 strings apart from the first few frets. Also i find the neck is a lot thicker and wider so shredding is more difficult anyway. My other problem is changing between 7s and 6s constantly i find it tough.

Just wondering what anyone who has tried both for a period of time thinks. Im torn between both.
Last edited by Psych0tr0n at Apr 26, 2008,
7 string

you will grow drastically as a shredder

plus, 6 strings can get fuggled truss rods, messed up action, etc. from drop tuning.
Vociferance

Halcyon

Quote by dead-fish
OMGZ! Chuck shuldingr iz teh master conspiraiter!

Quote by jakekilgore666
sean hart i love your avatar
i have 11 6 strings, one 7 string, i like my 7, when the mood is right, mostly, i just play the 6 strings. everything is about the mood with me, i love my 7 string though, it gets the nice heavy sound i want from it, and it sounds like the devil when i need it too. i wouldnt get rid of it even if i only played it once every couple years
Quote by jamogod
i have 11 6 strings, one 7 string, i like my 7, when the mood is right, mostly, i just play the 6 strings. everything is about the mood with me, i love my 7 string though, it gets the nice heavy sound i want from it, and it sounds like the devil when i need it too. i wouldnt get rid of it even if i only played it once every couple years

i agree the 7 sounds beefier but all i end up playing is generic metal riffs. i got the hellraiser btw.
Quote by SeanHart213
7 string

plus, 6 strings can get fuggled truss rods, messed up action, etc. from drop tuning.

yeah i have my Epi in Drop A and the action is horrible its sounds like **** and i'm getting a seven string within the next few weeks.
Ibanez RG7321
Dean Evo Special 7