I'm really new to music theory and I really want to learn a lot about it. But my biggest issue, that none of the lessons on this site (or any site) really addresses is, what the hell do i do with the scales and chords, when put together. So my question is, when I create a Chord Progression say, Cmaj-->Fm7-->Dm-->G7 (just picking random chords), would my bassline and/or riff follow the scale modes that fit those chords. So for example, would the riff go from Ionian to Dorian to Aeolian to Mixolydian? Or would it stay based in one scale. And if I'm totally wrong please point me in the right direction. Thanks a lot!
If you have a chord progression, you could just try and follow the chord progression with your bass line. By that I mean just doing something as playing the root and fifth of the chord or playing full arpeggios of the chords as your bass line.
12 fret fury
Quote by Punk Poser
If you have a chord progression, you could just try and follow the chord progression with your bass line. By that I mean just doing something as playing the root and fifth of the chord or playing full arpeggios of the chords as your bass line.

so if i were to be doing a Cmaj Chord (EADGBe 032010) I would do that same thing on the bass minus the B and e strings? or would I play C and then E with some other stuff in between that would be based on the scale of that note?
Whatever sounds good. And there's lots of things that sound good. Basically, it's a good idea to stay in the key and follow the chord tones.

would my bassline and/or riff follow the scale modes that fit those chords
If you want. It could sound quite good.
would the riff go from Ionian to Dorian to Aeolian to Mixolydian? Or would it stay based in one scale
You could do either, or some combination of those two methods.
I would do that same thing on the bass minus the B and e strings?
Sure
or would I play C and then E with some other stuff in between that would be based on the scale of that note?
Yeah sounds good to me.