I've been playing for a while (on and off for 13 years...non stop for past 2 years).

Since January I've been getting major hand cramps if I play a song with all barre chords. My hand actually gets numb sometimes. The songs are about three to four minutes of barre chords.

I warm up every time I pick up the guitar with somes scales and a metronome for about five minutes and since this problem has occured I've been stretching my hand after the warm-ups. (I was an athlete so I know the importance of warm-ups and stretching)

Could it be technique? This would be odd considering it is a recent phenomenon and I havne't changed my technique in my fret hand. I've established better pick techique since the beggining.

Has anybody else experienced this, if so how did you work it out. It is frustrating because when I write songs 9 out of ten I use mostly barre chords.

Your replies will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
E preciso amar as pessoas como se nao houvesse amanha- Renato Russo
Barre chords usually hurt at first... then one's hand becomes used to it.

What you're describing is a sudden pain. I suggest you see a doctor - possibly, you might have arthritis or something.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
It mite be tendionidious, playing guitar and messing around on Ultimate-Guitar.com will give it to you I no I have it and it sucks man but they can put you on some meds that take away the pain, you just wont be able to play for about 10 days
1000's of users on this site and just two people have had problems with hand cramps or pain?
Quote by Jay Gatsby
I've been playing for a while (on and off for 13 years...non stop for past 2 years).

Since January I've been getting major hand cramps if I play a song with all barre chords. My hand actually gets numb sometimes. The songs are about three to four minutes of barre chords.