Ok, so i will be buying my first guitar soon but i am not looking for a crappy begineer guitar since i have been playing for around 5 months at a friends house and am starting to get pretty good.

I'm looking for a guitar under $500 and I know that i should just go to the guitar store to play each one but i am bored so what the heck.

I mainly listen to 80s metal (Metallica, Iron Maiden) and a little Led Zeppelin type music.

The epiphone les paul standard looks pretty good but for some reason it gets bad review.

And i am looking for this guitar to last me 3-4 years of good play.

Anyone have any suggestions?
jackson kelly
a schecter from the Diamond Series
maybe an ESP?
Guitar:
Ibanez S-Series 7 String
Pedals/other:
Morley Power Wah Volume
Gemini Dual Channel EQ
Boss TU-2
Amp:
Peavey 5150 120 watt combo (considering sale)
epiphone les paul standard is pretty nice IMO and they could fit your styles

but be sure to check VM series squiers
they are really great guitars for the price and better than fender MIMs IMO
My Gear

Squier VM p-bass(i chosed it over a fender!!!) with quarter pounder and gotoh 201!!
fender MIM P bass
epiphone SG 400
Look at a used guitar that would usually cost more, also, check out the B-stocks and closeouts from sites like musiciansfriend, music123, zzounds, etc... go and play the guitars you want in the store and see if you like them, then try and find them online, many times you can find a 600-800 dollar guitar that are pretty much brand new aside from a nick or scratch on the body for around $500 or less if you really search hard
Homemade Strat
ESP EC1000
ESP MH 400 w/ Original Floyd Rose
Epi Les Paul Custom
Line6 Flextone
Mesa Boogie Triple Rectifier
Furman Power Cond.
DOD rack EQ
Digitech Whammy
Dunlop Wah
Boss FL2 Flanger
Line6 Tremelo
Line6 Echo Park
id say a ibanez RG4EXQM1 or RG5EX1 to go to a local guitar shop and try some guitars out
ESP viper-400 is good but there cheaper guitars not to good