Hey guys. I'm new at guitar and I usually just play for 15 minutes or so a day depending on how interested I am. My question is this... do most of you play with your guitars plugged into the amp when you're practicing? I normally don't even plug mine in and just play on the natural string noises. But it's probably because i have a crappy amp that doesn't sound very good anyways....
yeah i have a line 6 30 watt amp i love plugged in
Quote by original_idiot
Jew Trouble

Quote by guitarmang93
Nah i love the feeling of poo coming out. Its like being reverse ass ****ed.

Quote by jemocam
Lets teach them the meaning of CROTCH VIOLENCE!!!

GO GNOME OR GO HOME!

Join My Group!

Free The Pear!

Band's Myspace
Always play through your amp unless you just wanna play acoustic. your mistakes will become more apparent through a speaker.....
Well it depends what I am playing really... well that's not true, I prefer to plug in my guitar for everything. Mostly to hear if my hand positions are correct, especially getting that palm mute right if i'm playing something with a distortion. Also helps to hear the difference in sounds when different pickups are being used and also to hear what changes when you pick (or pluck) the strings in different spots, ie, closer to the bridge or closer to the neck.

Also, if you are fingerpicking, it helps to hear how much louder your thumb is making your bass notes, can be rather daunting to hear how much your bass if over powering your higher notes, or the melody. Listening can help determine how much harder you need to hit the strings, or adjust volumes, whatever.

Hope that helps...
Yeah, I practice with it plugged in. There aren't many greater sounds than that of an electric guitar pumped through an amp.
I think that if you play even just practicing is better if you play through an amp just because it gives you a chance to play with the sounds and the veriety of noises your amp can put out.