I'd like to see peoples opinions on this ...while picking up a new song should I try to pick it up by ear or go straight for guitar pro tabs?...I am a beginner and till now I was picking up songs by seeing the GP tabs...but I think that in that way Im neglecting my ear training...plz put ur views on this subject...
Quote by soumyabumba
I'd like to see peoples opinions on this ...while picking up a new song should I try to pick it up by ear or go straight for guitar pro tabs?...I am a beginner and till now I was picking up songs by seeing the GP tabs...but I think that in that way Im neglecting my ear training...plz put ur views on this subject...

I would always try to learn it by ear. Tab is good if you get stuck on something, but I would recommend always starting with the ear.

So many people get caught in this rut of reading tabs. You ask them to play anything and its like "hold on, let me pull out my tab book".

Use your ear - memorize - play

Use tab if you get stuck and/or cant figure something out by ear.
Last edited by GuitarMunky at Apr 28, 2008,
Use your Ear! much more beneficial plus internet tabs are notoriously inaccurate anyways.

start with simple melodies, riffs, intros, etc and figure them out by ear. Work your way up to more complex songs.
Quote by GuitarMunky
I would always try to learn it by ear. Tab is good if you get stuck on something, but I would recommend always starting with the ear.

So many people get caught in this rut of reading tabs. You ask them to play anything and its like "hold on, let me pull out my tab book".

Use your ear - memorize - play

Use tab if you get stuck and/or cant figure something out by ear.

+1

People seem to forget that music is a hearning art and rely on tab. The problem is they never train there ear which is an important part of learning the instrument.