Im thinking about installing a pre-amp on my bass. What's the difference between a 2-band and a 3-band? Would I need to get extra pots (meaning more holes drilled in my bass) or anything like that?

Is Aguilar any good? Thanks, guys.
Quote by Demon Wolf
Man, you even got the melody right. +1000000 points.

Quote by Night_Lights
^thats a brilliant call. *jots in notebook*
2 band is usually just bass and high eq , 3 band has mids to. the amount of pots depends on what one u get. my mates 2 band has 4 pots.
Oh. Thanks. How much difference does a pre amp make anyway? Im a complete noob when It comes to this.
Quote by Demon Wolf

Quote by Night_Lights
It controlls the sound depending on what preamp you get.I would like a 4 band eq since i get really into the details and want to make it just right.The less number the eq the less controll you have over your sound.
...it was bright as the sun, but with ten times the heat
A preamp is exactly what it says, it's a preamplifier, just like the one you have in your amp. It's got EQ and you usually take either a hi and low pot or a hi, mid and low pot and put them in your bass. They control the range of frequencies they state. To me, a 3 band preamp is wicked, however I see no need for a 2 band as mids are the thing I most tweak. If you have a Fender bass, you shoudl REALLY look into getting a John East preamp for two reasons. One it's a direct fit for a standard Fender. And two, it comes prewired and you don't have to worry. Aguilar's are basically a bunch of wires in a box.
I recommend the east preamps too. They are excellent for all applications and esspecially fender jazz basses. Aguilar makes good preamps but they are much more difficult to install and may require drilling more holes. In general a 3 band eq is going to require 5 holes: bass mid hi volume and blend. I prefer a 3 band but many people don't requirenthat much tone control. what kind of bass do u have?