Now i am extremly crap when it comes to this i have no knowledge so please try not to be rude. Ok now i am looking to record very soonish, i am hoping to use some programs and what not mix it all together you know all that shiz. But i have no idea about microphones and recording. Now i have some questions i hope you guys can answer.

What microphones do you use?

How do you use it? (does it plug straight into the comp, do you need to line out from an amp)

How much did it cost?

Thank you for all your help.

has no signature.
you can buy programmes and such for this but they are expesive, i'd personaly recomend keeping your money and buying a digital multi track recorder with a built in drum machine, theyre an invaluable piece of kit for recording full songs and keeping sound banks of riffs and ideas.
hope this was of any help.. though i doubt it.
ive recorded with stuff at school and we have used Shure 57's for the instruments, eg guitars and some drums, maybe a shure 58 on the drums as well.

as for pluging into the comp, we used an mbox, i think it was called, basically a two port input that then connected to the computer.

for price wise, the mics were a couple of hundred and the mbox was 800 i think.

we also used a program called protools, its a pretty good program for recording it cames with the mbox so you dont need to buy it seperatly.

and for the bass/keyboard, you may need a D.I, direct input, so from the bass amp, into the D.I and then to the mbox, or keyboard into D.I into mbox.

thats all i can think of for now.
Well I would advise two things to begin with. 1: Go to some music College or something around your area and do an Audio course that preferrably focuses on recording.
2: Ask all your friends who do it as well.

Now, I'm assuming you're looking at just a home studio setup, which I do know a little bit about. I want to build one myself in the next year hopefully, and I know some stuff already.