As you can tell i'm a beginner at the guitar. (little less than a month) and i'm working on the basics. I can do the pentatonic scale for G minor, but all i'm getting out of it is a finger exercise. I dont know what its teaching...so can anyone explain what scales teach in general or can someone lead me to a GOOD basic music theory website that will explain everything in detail?
This site, search for "Theory" under the lessons tab on the very top of this website.
OK, there's TONS of theory websites. I don't know them off hand, but ask at a local music shop, and I guarantee that you will get more sites than you want.

Ok, here's a VERY basic and VERY rough rundown.

We'll take the major scale (you havn't learned it, suffice it to say one exists, and it's the one that chords are built from in general)
The major scale, just like your pentatonic scale, has a set of notes running up the neck. These notes, are labeled in a certain way depending on the key that you are playing in.

Lets say the scale goes C, D, E, F, G, A, B, C.
These notes would be the Root, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th, and Root respectively.

you use these degrees (the 1st, 2nd, etc numbers) to build chords. Some chords are used extremely often, and therefore given certain names. For example, a MAJOR chord is the 1st, 3rd, and 5th degree put together, so we could call it a 1, 3 , 5 chord, but noone ever does that, because major is easier, and (if you investigate more into this, it makes more sense).

REMEMBER, all the degrees used to identify a chord, like a C7, are referring to the MAJOR scale of that note. For that chord, you would play C major, and then add the 7th note of the C major scale. You wouldn't add the 7th of the Pentatonic scale, that's just not how the system works.