Page 1 of 6
First I'd like to say hello to all you fellow guitar players, welcome to this thread, My name's Ricky. I'll start by saying that I'm fairly new to this wonderful realm of axe wailing.

Here are a few things I've picked up on since I started playing guitar. Some are thoughts but most are opinions and so, I hope I don't offend anyone.

I'm heavily influenced by John Mayer (that doesn't mean it's all I play) . That's just my cup of tea. I began playing acoustic riffs and only seemed to be getting better and better. Good enough, that people who've been playing for years thought I had too... but I had only a few months of practice, granted, I practiced 7 to 8 hours a day. And so... i had a lot of buddies that played metal. I noticed that a lot of them didn't know much about chords. Most relied solely on "tabs" and were completely lost if they saw something like "G7" or "Fm6"... And so... came my annoyance of "power chords"

So, here's how I learned. First I learned "cowboy chords" this is the very basic sound of music... However, you can nearly play everything just using these basic chords. So, I got some chord charts from the internet and practiced them, transition is key. With this, I learned what all the "add" and "sus" stuff meant. It's the addition or suspension of notes in the chord. You'll find some good lessons on this site about that. It looks hard but it's cake.

Next, I ignored most guitarists who said "If your hand hurts when playing... please, do yourself a favor, and stop." lol Ok dudes, have you ever heard the saying "No pain, no gain." ??? Well, I played until my fingers felt like rocks. I play till my hand or wrist pretty much gives up on me. I'm not saying to go and kill yourself on this... but there will be pain. or there won't be progress.