hello everyone

this is my first post on UG forums

i have just started playing guitar, as in i bought a guitar starer kit a few days ago. it came with some cheap guitar, amp, lead, tuner, all the basics and nothing flash.

i know how tot une my guitar and all and wanna start playing things so i look up tabs, then i relaise they are insanely hard. what should i do to slowly get better? what should I play? I dont have a teacher so im on my own here.

can any1 post some URL's of easy things that i should play/practise? I looked through the total begginers section of lessons on this site but it just wasnt wat i was looking for.

EDIT: o ye and i have some experience with music, ive played the flue for about 2 and a half years.

dm1337

(ye the same one from dota forums if ur wondering and use dota forums)
Last edited by dm1337 at Apr 30, 2008,
firstly, welcome to UG!

secondly, i think the best way to go about it is to learn some simple chords first. C G A D etc and then slowly start expanding your horizons, in terms of chord complexity, fills, whatever. Have fun!
"And after all of this, I am amazed...

...that I am cursed far more than I am praised."
if u can read music ur best bet would b to find a begginer guitar instructional book writtin with out tabature. lots of guitarist can't read teh muzics.

but first things first run through a bunch of scales and do the chromatic execersize tyo build up finger strength
Just because I play the drums doesn't mean I suck at guitar, or ams that I's iz stoopidz.

Space that ain't yours
welcome m8!

try learning some chords as Sol9989 said already, you can also try simple songs/licks you are interested in. look for songs with a low tempo to start of with, what music are you interested in?

have fun!
oh yea chords...i forgot about those. an easy song with chords is "wild thing",
Just because I play the drums doesn't mean I suck at guitar, or ams that I's iz stoopidz.

Space that ain't yours