I've got Elixir strings on my Ibanez bass, they came with it, and within like 2 weeks they started going all fluffy, I'm assuming it's this magical anti-rust coating flaking or something but I was just wondering if this has happened to anyone else??
What do you mean with "fluffy"? I've used elixir strings for two years now and that has never happened to me. It could be badly made strings, it could also be that your fingers leave a lot of grease.
Dude, i've been playing with elixers for about 5 years on all 4 of my guitars...What are you talking about "fluffy"? Do you clean your strings after you play???
Well like kinda white stuff started peeling off around the strings, like fraying. It's never happened with normal strings.
elixirs are a gimmick. besides feeling nice, the rubber coating comes off where you pick, and makes a mess. not to mention, once you wear through the rubber youre left with a "weak spot" on the string where it is unprotected, and most likely will break. i hate them, and use DR's if i want something that lasts.

so TS, you are not alone.
For some they work great for others meh. They break alot and I mean alot for me. And its not my guitar as they did it on all my guitars and different strings each time. I had to buy 2 sets and use the second set to replace broken strings. It was everyday one would break. I went back to ddarrios havent had a string break since then. And I noticed a drop in tone with the coating. So for some they work great other than that they are just an overpriced gimmick.
I used some on my electrics and didnt get on with them very well!! but i wont use anything else on my acoustics. I swear by them for that!!
Horrible gimmick. I play fast type metal and these strings do get "fluffy" and fall apart. They sound great the first day, after that, meh. DR's FTW.