I just turned old enough to get a job with my cousin at her work and im hopefully going to run into some money soon. i just joined a new band and when i showed up to practice wiht my 50watt combo amp they looked at me like i was retarded. their families are rich as hell and they all have really nice gear... pretty embarrasing really. i was thinking about getting a new amp with the money that i earn. the problem is, i have little knowledge about amps. combos, half stacks, full stacks, whatever the hell else there is... talk to me about them. what should i consider buying?
its a christian metal band, and at the rate that we're progressing we're probably going to be gigging pretty soon. and im not too sure about my budget yet.
First off, who gives a crap what gear you got (unless its a spider III) ? I hope they didn't give you any flack about it, and you shouldn't be embarrased about it at all, secondly, I'd strongly recommend going for a tube, and maybe a combo to start with, so Peavey Valveking 112 might do the trick ?

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus-Top, SH-2 and SH-5
Ibanez GRX20
Baron Acoustic
Peavey Valveking 112
Roland Cube 15
Dunlop Crybaby From Hell
Dunlop GCB-95 Crybaby
Boss MT-2 Metal Zone
Boss PH-3 Phase Shifter
Boss BF-3 Flanger
Last edited by Awaken at May 2, 2008,
apparently they give a crap about what gear i have. they dont think its gunna do good enough at the gigs we're gunna be playing.
What sort of money are we talking? And some young, immature people will laugh at anything that's not a 100W half-stack, I'm willing to bet their gear looks impressive but is actually utter garbage!