Loads of manufacturers use AWG 42, so I'd guess that 43 should be okay too. The world shouldn't end because of the difference in winds you can get with the two.. it can't be big.

Edit: 131,500 ft.. that's 25 miles. JESUS CHRIST, boy.
well, i have 42awg heavy formvar and was told i wont get the output i'm looking for because it's too thick and i wont get enough winds on the bobbin (i wanted to shoot for 8-9k neck and 12k bridge) and i've seen 43awg being used for higher output with less winds im just curious if the insulation is correct for pup winding... i'm a complete newbie when it comes to anything related to guitar electronics I think i had to resolder a wire once... that's the extent of it
Support your local luthier!

Timpson Guitars and TDM Pickups rock ;D

I make guitars and pickups. I also make sh*t that'll blow you the f*k up as well as things that will rebuild you - I have the technology
Quote by nuthinbuttrubl8
(i wanted to shoot for 8-9k neck and 12k bridge) and i've seen 43awg being used for higher output with less winds
You have this all confused. The resistance has little to do with the output. More turns gives you higher output. With the same size wire you will get more resistance per turn.

BUT

When you change to a smaller size, resistance will be misleading. You can have fewer turns with 43 gauge, yet still have higher resistance than a pick wound with 42 gauge.
The 43 gauge/fewer turns pickup will have lower output. Go by turns, not resistance.

Quote by nuthinbuttrubl8
im just curious if the insulation is correct for pup winding...
Who knows? I don't see anything about the type of insulation or the thickness. Both will affect the capacitance between the winding and the tone. That wire might be really good, or sorta crappy for winding a pickup.
Meadows
Quote by Jackal58
I release my inner liberal every morning when I take a shit.
Quote by SK8RDUDE411
I wont be like those jerks who dedicate their beliefs to logic and reaosn.