i am 16 years old and ive been playing guitar for a little over 5 years and have been stuck with the junky Fender Squier amp i got in my strat pack when i first started. i really need to ungrade to something bigger and better because im looking to start a small local band in my town. currently my main guitar is an Epipohone Les Paul Standard. i play moslty rock, and i was wondering what would be a good amp that is under $600. two options i thought of were the Marshall MG half stack which i heard is **** or the cheaper Fender 2x12. just trying get some opinions
600$ means youre pretty much stuck with solidstate amps, which is fine i guess. I have a line 6 spider 3 halfstack, which works fine, i can get some pretty good tone, and there's lots to play around with. it was a bout 650$ new, so i'd check that out. i have a marshall mg30 which is similar to the halfstack, and it sounds pretty good. If it's an option, i'd say save up till you can get like a peavey valve king, but it really depends on what kind of music you play.
i'd suggest one of the vox valvetronix amps
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Vox-Valvetronix-AD100VT-100W-Guitar-Combo-Amp?sku=482623
it may be modeling, but it can get some great sounds. if you get the foot pedal, it wont be so much of a pain in the ass to go switching the sounds, too.
and if you were to get that, there's a refurb for 100 bucks cheaper
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Vox-Valvetronix-AD100VT-100W-Guitar-Combo-Amp?sku=482623V
Quote by kerpan
600$ means youre pretty much stuck with solidstate amps, which is fine i guess. I have a line 6 spider 3 halfstack, which works fine, i can get some pretty good tone, and there's lots to play around with. it was a bout 650$ new, so i'd check that out. i have a marshall mg30 which is similar to the halfstack, and it sounds pretty good. If it's an option, i'd say save up till you can get like a peavey valve king, but it really depends on what kind of music you play.