hi sorry if this is in the wrong place but im a self taught guitarist whos been playing fot nearly 3 years now but now im getting into writing songs and the likes i have tried learning some general theory, however, everything i find absolutly bamboozals me.

any sites that you know that can help me or any advice on where to start learning or anything that you think will be rometly helpful is welcome

thanks in advance
Quote by Dillona
NME: OMFG DEY HAZ TIGHT JEENZ N MESSY HAIRZ!

LETS COVER THEM IN OUR MAGAZINE FOR THE NEXT THREE MONTHS! .

Metallica 08.07.07
Try getting some kind of tutor. Thats easially the best way of learning, directly from someone else, face to face.
Quote by Grouch
Try getting some kind of tutor. Thats easially the best way of learning, directly from someone else, face to face.

+1

if at all possible do this. Or take a class. The thing with theory, is you need to start from the very basic concepts and build 1 step at a time on that foundation. Having someone guide you through the materials is very helpful.

One thing you could try is the theory sticky here. Start at the beginning, and then if something doesnt make sense, see if you can get some answers here in the forum. It could at least give you some ideas.

keep in mind learning theory takes time. You wont read 1 post and understand it all.

here something you can look at as well. Intervals are the building blocks of scales and chords. its a good place to start:

Intervals
Last edited by GuitarMunky at May 3, 2008,
I did consider a tutor but I'm extremely tight for money at the moment.
And thanks for all the links found them really helpful.
Quote by Dillona

Metallica 08.07.07
Quote by leprechaun_sean
I did consider a tutor but I'm extremely tight for money at the moment.
And thanks for all the links found them really helpful.