Hi everyone,

I've not been participating in these forums for very long yet, but I've come across a couple of threads where the term fret buzz was mentioned. I've bought a new Tanglewood TW115 a few days back, and there's something wrong with my low E string that might fall under this category so... Occasionally when I pluck it, or during strumming, it sounds like it's rattling against something, a sort of can-sound, if that makes any sense. It's like the buzz when you touch a string that's ringing, just.. more intense. I figured I was playing it wrong (since I'm still a beginner), but I'm fairly sure everything's right. It's not my nail striking it or anything, it happens when strumming too, and my dad gets the same thing when playing on it (took me a while to convince him something was wrong though).

I've looked at the guitar extensively, and I've come to a couple of conclusions. Now, forgive me for using incorrect terminology, feel free to correct me so I'll learn..

- I considered it might be something in the case that's trembling, like the electronics wiring vibrating on the sound of the string, but it doesn't happen with any of the other strings, so I doubt this is it.

- Second I saw that the low E string, as only of the 6, has a little dent in the copper (metal?) coating where it goes into the case (case is probably not the right word either lol). Maybe something's messed up there, or if not precisely, it's at least related to the white..bridge..thingy (I gotta do a crash course in terms, any online lexicon for that? ) I think.

In the end I'm fairly certain it's the string itself, and not the guitar. Can anyone help or confirm (and is this what you call fret buzz)?

Thanks!
Well the white bridge thingy is a saddle, it's used for adjusting string height/action.

It make be too low and causing the fret buzz.
Your truss might be loose and vibrating at on a certain note or frequency like my acoustic does.