lately i've been trying to improve the speed of my playing (i know that speed isn't everything, but in metal it is undeniably important). I've been playing scales at increasing tempos with a metronome (okay, Guitar Pro, but it's the same thing). Is there anything else that i should be doing, or any particular songs that are good for picking up speed (preferably metal).

Anyway, onto the blister portion of the thread. When i play for over two hours or so, my plucking fingers start to hurt. if i play for about four or so in a day then i usually get a blister, which isn't the most comfortable thing. i've been playing for two years, so i thought i'd have a resistance by now, but it really doesn't seem like i do. is there anything i can do to let myself play for longer? and also, will wearing bandaids on my plucking fingers help in the short term? or will it mess up my tone too much/ make it harder to play or something?
The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. We live on a placid island of ignorance in the midst of black seas of infinity, and it was not meant that we should voyage far.
wow alotta stuff here
1) dont dont be a slave to tempo the worst thing you can do is force yourself to be in a rigid set, some of the best things you can do defy tempo.
2) dont keep bandaids on for long, they help you keep going in the short term but you have to take them off soon enough cause you gotta build up stamina (on your finger pads)
3) if you wanna truly get faster just keep practicing it takes time
Quote by afratmdk
wow alotta stuff here
1) dont dont be a slave to tempo the worst thing you can do is force yourself to be in a rigid set, some of the best things you can do defy tempo.

Care to explain?
Quote by afratmdk
wow alotta stuff here