Hello! This is my first time taking part in the forum...

Here is my problem.

I've got a Epiphone Les Paul Custom Alpine White, a guitar I'm sure everyone of you know.

I wanted to change it's mics, but I cannot decide.

People told me:

Put some actives, some EMG ZW set.

Or, put Seymour Duncan, a '59 on the neck and a JB on the bridge.

It is expensive for me, and that's why I want to have good references before buying.

Could you please tell me?

PD: About the EMG, friends told me they had a pre-amp. Something that makes every guitar sound the same. An incredible sound, but the same on every guitar.
But, instead, they told me that the SD take the sustain of your own guitar...

Am I right? I don't know what to do! Please help!

PD2: Talking about the fashion of the guitar: If I put the EMG, it would look nice because of it's black cover but... if I put the SD, would I have to leave the mics uncovered? They told me it tend to coupling (I'm not sure if this is the word... you know, like when the volume is really high with distortion and makes that f.... noise that burns your ears :|)

PD3: Sorry for my English, I'm from Argentina

Thank you!
you can get white covers with emgs if you want them, if you got duncans you could request that they put covers on when you order them or you could do it yourself (if it not insanely difficult and there's a thread aruond here i've seen that is an excellent guide).

You might be curious to try a duncan jazz bridge/jazz neck in your guitar, they can come with covers if you want (chrome and gold i think) or black and a few other colours if you're interested. just be sure to request they are wax potted so they do not feedback ( I believe feedback is the word you were trying to convey although you could mean something else).

it all depends on what kind of sound you want. most guys who put duncans in les pauls use somethin like

pearly gates bridge/neck
59 bridge/neck
jazz bridge/neck
alnico 2 pro bridge/neck