Poll: Would you buy a guitar online if you've never played that exact model?
Poll Options
View poll results: Would you buy a guitar online if you've never played that exact model?
Yes
10 77%
No
3 23%
Voters: 13.
I'm thinking of buying a les paul style electric. I was thinking of going with agile because I heard good things about them but they are an online only distributor. So I'll have no shot at trying the thing out before I buy it which makes me weary. I'd get a gibson but I don't have the $$ for that kind of thing and I really don't like epiphone's from what I've seen of them so far, they seem cheaply put together -- though I'm no real expert about this stuff yet.

There's a GC about 1.5 hours from me, I was thinking of driving up there and seeing what I find but I don't want to be sold a lemon (bad pickup and I don't know it, or worse).

So two questions, should I go with brand names at a GC so I can have the advantage of buying it in person? Or can I trust rondomusic or musicians friend to ship one online? I suppose I could return it if i really don't like it, but I wish I could try it first

Second, this is the list of things I would check if I was looking at a new guitar. Please add to my list so I can be more thorough.

*The finish & overall look of the body
*The action (too high) & no fret buzzing or dead notes
*All the pickups (how can I tell if a pickup is bad??)
*Intonation
*Feel of the neck, comfortability in playing
*Bridge - what do I look for in a bridge? I don't want a floating bridge at this time

Also is there an easy way to tell how well the guitar would stay in tune (quality of the tuning pegs/headstock).
this is a post. there are many like it but this one is mine

=======================

Taylor Big Baby
Agile 3100 CSB
Peavey classic 30/112
Okko Dominator, Big muff pi, cs3, dd3, ch1, ts9, ad9, classic wah
epiphone les paul custom. it's pretty amazing if you ask me, for the price. and i would take the trip to GC.
Check out my music:
Sideshow