Page 1 of 3
Cherished Metal forum hessians, feel free to opiniate here the use of dissonance, or not, in metal.

I'm currently stripped of my guitar, and seldom are the times I write on paper exactly what's going on with my mind. That being said, I started playing with the dodecaphony and the twelve tone system, among other atonal and/or serialism techniques, and tried bringing it together with metal.

And because "thinking outside the box" is apparently encouraged, I started thinking and I realize there's a whole lot of consonance in music capable of scaring mere mortals. Why hasn't dissonance been brought together with metal (either though serialism-based techniques or just good old anarchich pre-atonalism) in order to move forward? It strikes me funny how, in a genre that aims or aimed to be beautiful while being able to discard each and every concept of traditional aesthetics, is actually assimilating more and more "soft" sounds. Don't get me wrong, I still like it, I'm just throwing ideas to mask the fact that I have nothing to say.

Discuss.
Last edited by CanCan at May 4, 2008,
You ever heard of The Dillinger Escape Plan, Head Control System or Behold....the Arctopus? That's dissonance up the ass
Quote by God_in_a_bag
fall of troy?

almost any math metal band

maybe you misread, he said metal
Quote by pwninator123
EPIC LOLZ FROM THE LEFTY!!!!!!

Quote by death.prog
Ugh...

When I brought up this page, so much fail dumped out of my computer screen and all over my hands, severely damaging my ability as a musician.
metal is extremely dissonant,

Meshuggah?
Quote by pwninator123

Quote by death.prog
Ugh...

When I brought up this page, so much fail dumped out of my computer screen and all over my hands, severely damaging my ability as a musician.
Yeah. Math metal, as said, uses this a lot.

Also, so do quite a lot of metal bands...Dissonance is cool.