im looking to get a new bass, for around $500. any suggestions? ive been playing for 2 years now and am looking to replace my ibanez GSR200.
What sound are you looking for? The Sr 500 is around $500 US and it's a nice bass. I've heard good things about schecter but I don't have any experience with them.
ESPs

Left hand man of the fargoth fanclub! PM lamafunguy to join.

Quote by InvaderTSN
Better yet. "My arm is tired, could I put it in between your legs so I can sexually violate you during the movie?"
Quote by Irnmaiden4life
lets watch this thread die like i should have on page 1
Quote by rokknrollldude
Epiphone t-bird, i strongly recommend

I would get a MIM Fender jazz or precision bass. Any particular look or sound you're going for?
i tried a t-bird a few days ago and the neck dive was insane.
im mostly going to be playing at my church, so not so much growl, not so much pop. really deep would be nice to.
a unique body style would be sweet, too.
Quote by rokknrollldude
Epiphone t-bird, i strongly recommend NOT TO GET

Fixed.
Quote by amitbob21
ok im a noob at slapping. Is it my strings or do i just suck at slapping? I have a squier fender J bass(im a noob). Im thinking of getting Ibanez GSR200

Quote by CheekanWofls
Practice on your wife
I played an SR500 a few days ago and it felt good and sounded nice. It might not have all the depth that you're looking for, though... a P bass will probably be better for that.
Similarly, you might want to check out Ibanez ATK. The Ibanez cousin to the P-Bass. Fat bass, really.
Les Claypool
Geddy Lee
Robert DeLeo
Flea

Weileder

...Coincidence? I think not.
yeah, i thought about getting an SR500 before i got my gsr, but i heard that it has a really soft body, so it dents really easily.
the p-basses are nice, arent they out of my price range...?
not MIM p-basses. look at the GC website.
Quote by FatalGear41
I wouldn't call what we have here on the Bass Forum a mentality. It's more like the sharing part of an AA meeting.