I've been playing bass now for 5 months on my squire J bass and I'm thinking it's time to get some new strings. Since I'm still kind of new to all this, what kind of strings should I get? And also, I've been saving up to get a new amp my price limit will be around $200 for that, what would be my best bet for that ammout?
woah, either you really look after your strings, or you have the cleanest hands ever!!!

depending on how much you play it's best to change your strings every 2 or 3 months.
i'd say rotosound are the best, but it depends on what you personally think sounds best.

it's just one of the things bass players have to put up with, it's taken me a year to find some strings that sound good with my new amp, and it's cost me a bomb.

rotosound are good and last a good while.
dean markley sound good but don't have much longevity.
one thing i will say, don't touch ernie ball strings, **** sound, and they get dull so quickly.
rotosound is good, ernie ball is also good, just not long lasting
webstrings are supposed to be nice too, but those are sold online only.
Quote by FatalGear41
I wouldn't call what we have here on the Bass Forum a mentality. It's more like the sharing part of an AA meeting.

Quote by Jason Jillard
HUMANITY WHATS WRONG WITH YOU.

Warwick Fortress>>Acoustic AB50

http://www.myspace.com/rustingbloom
from what I could gather, the prices per set go down as you buy in bulk. And thanks for the imput
TS, you need to try out as many string types as you can until you find the right tone for you.

It's a completely preferential thing.
In the bass chat:

<Jon> take the quote of me out your sig plx
<Jon> i hate seeing what i said around lol

Leader of the Bass Militia PM to join!

And now on BANDCAMP!

Officially the funniest member of the Bass Forum.