Page 1 of 2
I need help...I'm planning to get me either a prs se custom or singlecut. I just need help with what amp to get. I know that prs makes fine instruments, but I also know it will sound like crap through, say, an MG. any amp suggestions? I want to get a good solidstate because, I'm not gigging, though I do play in a band. Ive been playing for just over two years and I don't think I'm ready to cope with a high maintenance tube amp. Come to think of it, I have two main questions now

A. I really don't know have any experience with tube amps. I do know that they blow out or something and they have to replaced periodically. How often does that happen? Is a hybrid a good alternative? Like, do the tubes (in a hybrid amp) need to be replaced and all too; is it just as unreliable as a tube amp; does it have a "warm-up period"; and does it distort naturally too at a certain volume and does that sound like tube distortion?

B. I want to get a solidstate because I want something reliable; I'd only have one amp, not a tube and a backup SS. So I want reliability. I also want to be able to play clean sounds at higher volumes. What would you recommend with the prs se? my budget is 500 dollars for the amp, and I need it to be able to at least do small shows with a full band. Been looking into a carvin sx series amp. and don't diss carvin if you haven't even heard it. any amp suggestions?

Sorry if this was too long Any help will be greatly, greatly appreciated.
Last edited by penguinsarecool at May 6, 2008,
Just go all tube.
I say peavey classic series. You'll have to go used though.

It's easy to change tubes too, no biasing needed.
So, it's easier than changing a light bulb.
Call me Wes.
Gear:
Fender American Deluxe HSS Strat
Chicago Blues Box Roadhouse
Bad Cat Cougar 5
1957 Gibson GA-5
Ceriatone 18w TMB Combo
Hughes & Kettner Tube Factor
Various Ibanez TS9s
Weber MASS Attenuator