Hey guys!

I've decided that I would like to form a one man band kinda thing (except for drums) in the form of a Techno project. I suppose you could say the band line up would be pretty much like Nine Inch Nails (NOTE: Not specifically going for that sound.)

I need some help with choosing a bass, because although I LOVE the tone of a nice Fender (think Timmy C from Rage Against the Machine) I'm not sure I could afford one. I also admire the bass work of Justin Chancellor of Tool.

I'm mainly a guitarist who's looking to branch out musically--I'm a big metalhead (Pantera, Korn, Mudvayne, Behemoth, American Head Charge, Yyrkoon, King Diamond, Deftones), but I also love Techno/Electronica/Trance (The Crystal Method, DJ Shadow, Flavored Breakz, Prodigy); whatever genre you would like to call it, Alternative (Fuel, Staind, Tonic) , Flamenco, Pop-Punk (Blink 182, The Offspring), and Blues (Stevie Ray Vaughan and Jimi Hendrix, mainly.)

My main question is:

Is there an Ibanez or ESP out there that could give me the sound I'm looking for?

Thanks for your help!
"When ignorance reigns, life is lost."

Teh Space
that's MIM... I like MIM, but some are against that country's fenders
ibanez makes the srx series, they might be good too.
i'm not sure if an esp will make the right sound...
Quote by FatalGear41
I wouldn't call what we have here on the Bass Forum a mentality. It's more like the sharing part of an AA meeting.

Quote by Jason Jillard
HUMANITY WHATS WRONG WITH YOU.

Warwick Fortress>>Acoustic AB50

http://www.myspace.com/rustingbloom
Hmm, I'd say about $300 to $400 would be ideal.

An SRX would give a good Fender-esque tone?

I don't have much experience with Mexican Fenders, so I guess I can't say whether I'd like one or not.

Teh Space