Hey there,

I'm currently building a guitar with a friend....it's going to be a Fender Strat style.
Now I want to put in a single humbucker at the bridge (keep the electronics simple).

Any recommendations on a decently priced pick-up ($70-$110)?

PS: I'm not a guitar newbie but I've just never known...Passive and Active Pick-ups...is it just sound/noise quality that's the difference? silly question possibly
Rocking the free world one step at a time!
BTW its an alder body with Maple neck and Rosewood fretboard
Active pick-ups are better IMO. However, you have to router an extra cavity for the battery. As for hte pick up, it depends on your music preference. I'd recomend Seymour Duncans 59's. They're about 75 - 80 bucks. They're also passive.
depends on what ur lookin for man, actives sound steril, passives are nice and theres much more selection for passives than actives. Although the actives are getting more attention. But if u want a good metal pickup look at a dimarzio evo or x2n, if u want a blues type pick up hands down dimarzio paf-pro. but its all ur style man
Quote by DevilsDance76
Hey there,

I'm currently building a guitar with a friend....it's going to be a Fender Strat style.
Now I want to put in a single humbucker at the bridge (keep the electronics simple).

Any recommendations on a decently priced pick-up ($70-$110)?

PS: I'm not a guitar newbie but I've just never known...Passive and Active Pick-ups...is it just sound/noise quality that's the difference? silly question possibly