I honestly looked through the sticky's for a little bit, but I couldnt find anything. Now I've been playing guitar for 7 years and I understand basic and intermediate music theory for the most part. I've heard people arguing back and forth about whethere there are E#'s, Gb's and things like that and saying that there is a difference between them...if so, what is the difference? I hate to sound remedial, but someone please put my confounded mind at ease with this lol
What they're talking about is Enharmonic equivalents. Basically it means a Gb is the same as an F#, but depending on what scale you use you will either use the flat or sharp.

In regard to the E#, it is basically the enharmoic equivalent of F, and is hardly ever used.
E#'s just for notation they're F's and then G♭'s are a different note. It goes

E(half step)E#/F(half step)G♭/F#(half step)G
Just because I play the drums doesn't mean I suck at guitar, or ams that I's iz stoopidz.

Space that ain't yours
If you have a Gb and G# written in the same song..it would confusing as heck.
You'll see the b and # on the same line for the key signature.

But as you read the rest of the notations it would be screwie as heck...
for staters

maybe you'll play G# instead of playing a Gb when you're suppose to play the
Gb..Becuase the # or b symble dosen't always show on the rest of the notations.

bascially if you write a song in #...keep it in #, even thou F# and Gb gives
the same pitch.

so if you want the pitch of Gb played with G#..it's easier on my brain
to see it as F# and G#
Last edited by Ordinary at May 7, 2008,
So its 2 names that exist for the same note? There isnt some other musical realm where an E# sounds different from an F, correct? because that would be black magic...