Hey all I've just joined the site and I recently began playing electric guitar (first guitar) that I bought for myself. I bought a starter package here http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Ibanez-RG7321-7String-Electric-Guitar?sku=518876

I am looking for advice on what I should learn right now. I've only been playing for a bit over 1 month now so obviously I am still a noob. I've just been going off of tabs and I've only learned a couple things that I can memorize : Crazy Train intro, and Metal gear Solid theme acoustic (lol)

I went to the website justinguitar.com and am doing the beginner course and doing the major D, A, and E chords. I don't know whats most important to learn at this stage though

The music I'm hoping to be able to play eventually is metal. thrash, death, prog, any of that style. I've been practicing 5+ hours a day the past few weeks and really want to progress.

Can I get some help?

-RaVe
Learn the CAGED system matey, if you do a search on google you will find it.. and more importantly play songs you enjoy
nice package..

lol.. u nid to learn all the chords first!

basics fisrties

den begin practicing power chords
Thanks, and yeah the package is pretty good except I don't really like the amp at all..the gain (distortion, right?) sounds bad when up and gives all this nasty static so I'm looking to buy a new one soon.
All Good Places To Start^^^

or you could start with your scales, penatonic or minor first
Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul Standard
Gibson Explorer New Century
Gibson RD Artist
Fender American Standard Telecaster

Amps:

Framus Cobra
Marshall JCM800 2203 - 1960A

Pedals:

Crybaby 535Q
Rockbox Boiling Point Overdrive
Quote by Rave765
Thanks, and yeah the package is pretty good except I don't really like the amp at all..the gain (distortion, right?) sounds bad when up and gives all this nasty static so I'm looking to buy a new one soon.