My apologies in advance if this subject has already been answered/discussed elsewhere.

Hey, guys and girls. I'm pretty new to this forum, but not to the one thing that I'm sure we all love and enjoy; the guitar. I've been playing for about ten years, and have always revolved my riffage, my lickage, and my overall playing around the blues. As such, I seem -- maybe it's all in my head -- to be stuck in the pentatonic box. I post this in hopes that one (or all) of you can give me some advice on how to break OUT of aforementioned box.

Any help would and will be greatly appreciated! Thanks...

--Hec
Learn major, minor and possibly some blues scales if you play that sort of stuff.

Use these scales when creating riffs. I can see how it might be hard to get out of the pentatonic scale if you've been playing that long using it.

Also, scales (including pentatonic ones) are all over the fret board not just in one box shape. Try learning more than one postition for the above scales then joining these positions together.

Learning the notes on the fretboard would make it much easier to see scales all over the neck.

If fact maybe just learn some theory as well...
Quote by xhriverax
My apologies in advance if this subject has already been answered/discussed elsewhere.

Hey, guys and girls. I'm pretty new to this forum, but not to the one thing that I'm sure we all love and enjoy; the guitar. I've been playing for about ten years, and have always revolved my riffage, my lickage, and my overall playing around the blues. As such, I seem -- maybe it's all in my head -- to be stuck in the pentatonic box. I post this in hopes that one (or all) of you can give me some advice on how to break OUT of aforementioned box.

--Hec

Go here http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/search.php?s=modes&w=lessons
Quote by xhriverax

--Hec

simple:

learn some new scales
learn some new music (try something other than blues)
Quote by GuitarMunky
simple:

learn some new scales