I'm looking to try out a solo acoustic project, and want to record what I've written. I've got no clue how to go about doing so. From what I read, I think I want 2 mics, 1 at the 12th fret of my guitar, and the other for vocals. When I mix it, I want vocals panned left and guitar panned right.

However, I'm a complete novice on recording. How do I get the sound from the mic to my recording program? Which mics and recording program should I use? I'm on a tight budget for now, so no $200 mics for me. And in general, how simple/complex is basic recoring/mixing? Thanks for the info.

Update: Okay, I apologize. I just read the FAQ. So I need a recording interface with two inputs, 2 mics, and recording software (I think...). Any suggestions?
Guitars:
Epiphone Les Paul Special II [Heavily Modded]
Hand-Built Jem Copy
Rouge RA-100

Amps:
Crate VC-50
Epiphone Studio 10

Pedals:
DigiTech Bad Monkey
MXR 10 Band EQ
Boss Noise Suppressor
Electro-Harmonix Metal Muff w/ Top Boost
Last edited by Afyum at May 8, 2008,
Don't pan everything like that. Maybe knock the vocals a little to the left and the guitar a little to the right, or put one in the middle and one a little left or right. Don't just bang em to both sides.
Quote by ottoavist

i suppose there's a chance
i'm just a litte too shallow to consider
that maybe i've been a little more eager
each day to wake up and take a shower
brush my teeth and smile for the mirror
Okay. I wasn't sure, I'm just going to wait till I have everything, then play around with it untill I figure it out.

Update: After looking around; here is what I came up with.

E-Mu Xmidi Interface
Guitar Mic
Guitar Mic Cable
Guitar Mic Stand
Vocal Mic Set

As for the recording program, I'm sure limewire and me can work out a deal...
Guitars:
Hand-Built Jem Copy
Rouge RA-100

Amps:
Crate VC-50
Epiphone Studio 10

Pedals:
DigiTech Bad Monkey
MXR 10 Band EQ
Boss Noise Suppressor
Last edited by Afyum at May 8, 2008,