Page 1 of 2
When using a pick and generally beating the crap out of the strings, is it okay to use my whole arm while picking, or should I stick to using just my wrist? I don't have any trouble playing up to speed with my whole arm (my band usually plays fast stuff), but when I try to use just my wrist, it just doesn't work.

I guess what I'm asking is, is it improper technique to use your whole arm? Don't misunderstand me, I'm not Pete Wentz, playing at the 15th fret moving my arm a foot every time I hit a note. The guitarist for The Faceless uses his whole arm and they play a lot faster than we do. What I'm thinking is, since I'm a bassist and my strings are bigger and require more force to hit them properly, it's cool to use my whole arm, especially since guitarists who play faster than I do do that. Am I right in thinking that?

Also,

When playing for long-ish periods of time, if I use the "proper technique" of keeping my thumb on the back of the neck, fingers parallel to the frets, my thumb and eventually my arm starts to hurt. But when I do the thumb over (not wrapped around) the fingerboard, it doesn't hurt and I have better stamina. So what's up, am I doing it wrong? And what's so bad about having your thumb poking over the fretboard?
Millie, my Peavey Grind Fiver
Peavey BAM 210 350w combo amp
Sansamp Bass Driver DI
Modded Ernie Ball VP Jr.
Monster Bass Cable, 21'

Quote by NakedBassist
Welcome to bass, you'll f*cking love it
well the arm thing doesnt matter

and the thumb thing, everyone will swear up and down against eachother

i jsut do whats comfortable which for the most part is the farther down the neck (towards the nut) i play the more my thumb wraps around

like playing a G# on the G string my thumb is wrapped right around

but if i want to play something p[retty much above the 10th fret my thumb goes towards the middle of the neck

when Moses brought down the plagues upon Egypt one of them involved Behringer amps