Hey guys,

I am relatively new to recording everything at home, but I really want to try it.
I am in a band atm and none of my ideas are ever being realized, so if I want it done right, I gotta do it myself.

Question is, How?

Definitely want guitars to sound the best they can. I looked up a program/audio interface (a popular man by the name of Gustavo Guerra uses it on youtube) to record the music, it is called Guitar Rig 3. Any criticism on this 600$ piece of equipment? The quality of his videos are fantastic but I doubt I can contribute that solely to this product.

Nonetheless, it seems like a good start to me to get my guitars to the computer.

Next up, drums?
I know there are many drum machines out there, but I want the best.

In case you're asking, I am playing metal. But I don't want to limit myself to that, I want clean, I want at least a slightly versatile setup. I'm mostly into melodic metal such as Children of Bodom and Wintersun, and get into neo-classical such as Symphony X and Yngwie Malmsteen. I also like heavier metal such as Cannibal corpse, but lets not go there. XD

So any good drum machines you know of that are great for this genre would be nice.

Vocals, I know this is pretty straightforward, so I don't think I'll tread this path yet.

Right now my real life setup is a Marshall 1960A with a Peavey Valveking Head. Should I just mic this or something? I'm not really sure, I have no experience here.

Please, give me some guidance to the things I listed, but give me some advice as well, I know there are many of you in this community who are extremely knowledgeable about recording and I'd like you to pass a fraction of this knowledge on to me.

Thanks in advance.

P.S You must know budget, right? My budget I would say, well, I am making 8$ an hour working a considerable amount of time. I guess if it doesn't breach the 2000$ mark, I'm good.
Last edited by Asyilius at May 8, 2008,
This looks fun. I'll try something.