So, me and my 3 friends (2 guitarists and a drummer) are getting together on sunday to jam and play a couple of songs and I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me on playing with a drummer as i have never done it before.
Quote by HuckIt
I met this chick I really liked and wanted to practice sex, so I practiced on some guy

Quote by MetalheadforJC

I herd rap mean Retraded Attemped at Poetry

Last edited by lyndon_93 at May 9, 2008,
the drummer keeps the time (at least they are supposed to). Follow the drummer for tempo but feel free to do whatever with your bass lines. If the guitar players aren't that great, don't go all willy nilly, they may loose their place.
Out here you've gotta know where your towel is!
ull find it a lot easier than with no drummer, ull find that ull keep in time more and have a lot of fun

now if guys are just jamming and not playing actual songs
have someone start a riff and everyone else quickly learn that riff and then take it in turns improvising solos and what not.

The drummer should change the mood of the song from fast to slow to funky and all other things which everyone should mix well together
thanks alot
the only song that I know we're definately playing is Chop Suey by SOAD.
thanks for the advice anyway.
Quote by HuckIt
I met this chick I really liked and wanted to practice sex, so I practiced on some guy

Quote by MetalheadforJC

I herd rap mean Retraded Attemped at Poetry

The most basic step is to play on the bass drum beat. That's normally a reliable way to start locking in with the drums. You don't have to do it on every beat, or only play on the beat, but it provides a solid foundation.