I've been playing bass for 3-4 years and I broke my first sting during the second song of our show. I was tuned to drop-d and I broke the low D. I didn't think it was physically possible, but i did it. Has this happened to anyone else?
[IMG]http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y5/Fuzzycows5157/canada.bmp[/IMG]
I've broken my bottom string before while I was playing a song. Then again the strings were 5ish years old and I was wailing on them. The only other strings I've broken were on a school bass and put on very badly. (Note: I usually change my strings more than every 5 years)

check out all they videos on youtube
they dead serious about thuggin like that
if you ask me they are fruity
an i hope one morning they drown in there fruit loops
I broke my D-string (the normally tuned one) once, but it was kinda weird. I think it broke because I was bending too far, but honestly, I don't remember why it broke. But a low E or D? I imagine something is wrong with your playing technique or something on your bass is cutting into your string a bit (a problem I had with my cheapo guitar).
Just remember...

"If we can hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominoes will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

I'm borrowing my friend's bass currently and the strings are look two years old, I have no problems.

You broke the D string? lol, you must've been plucking really hard.
i broke my e string a long time ago when i didnt know how to tune and i didnt have a chroamtic tuner so i tried to tune up to D and it snapped and unwound real fast :O
Gear
Ibanez SR400QM
Squier P-Bass
Fender Rumble 100 2x10
Concertmate-990 Keyboard
BBE Stomp Sonic Maximizer
Squier Stratocaster
Fender 15w Guitar Amp
don't let the thickness fool you,i broke an e string that was a 115 gauge after only 3 months,most likely coz i give em h311 playing heavy metal with a pick
Yep, I'm from Kentucky all right! yee haw!

Quote by Zycho
Who says you need a band? A bass can do just as much exciting shit as a guitar can.