I've plateued.

I've been playing guitar for about 4 years, and I've not noticed any particular improvement recently. I just don't know what I can do to improve my skills. I know a decent(ish) amount of theory, but I'm still hopeless at writing songs.
The most technically difficult thing I can play is the Rocket Queen (Guns N Roses) solo, if that gives you any idea of my level.
It's girls and spaghetti... We love girls and spaghetti!
Sweep picking!
Learn some scales, develop your own solos and riffs.
Jackson King V KVX10
Line 6 Spider III 75 W.
Peavey 5150/6505 Combo to be owned at the end of 2010.
Listen to different genres of music. If your in metal, try funk, in to rock, try jazz. Id check out some jam bands also because they have every style mixed in. Grateful dead, Phish, moe. Umphrey's mcgee. Check those guys out and try to learn by ear from them.
Only one solution: Go out there and find musicians who are better then you and try to either jam with them or at least observe them playing around. They'll instill you with the inspiration and jealousy that I think is the only way to truly break out of ruts. This is coming from someone who always hits those plateaus.
Gear:
Inflatable Guitar
Digitech GSP 2101/Mosvalve 962/Yamaha S412V
My Imagination
Quote by Topstring
I've plateued.

I've been playing guitar for about 4 years, and I've not noticed any particular improvement recently.

Ah, guitar "mid-life" ...

Just an observation: The single biggest factor that I think holds people back from
this point onwards is the gap between what they think they know and what they
actually know. Usually the search for advancement looks to "advance techniques".
That might help a little, but if you look more to the "gap" you'll find better answers.
That's one of the reasons, I believe, many people get to this point and then not a lot
further.
Hmmm, perhaps you could elaborate on this 'gap'? <_>
Well, I listen to just about every genre of music around, so I don't think it's that.