I am a beginner - intermediate guitarist looking to get a custom made guitar from a luthier. I would like to send him the sorts of specs and features I would like so I can get a guitar that fits me.

Basically, I absolutely LOVE the thick, humbucker sound of a Les Paul, but recently I've also come to appriciate Strat and other type sounds as well.

Mainly, I want a PAF type humbucker sound, but it would also be good if I could get a single coil and/or P90 sound out of ther same guitar as well.

Keeping in mind that I want mainly want a Les Paul sound, what kind of specs would you reccommend?

Should I get a Les Paul body? Strat body?
Les Paul scale length?
Pickups? (I was thinking mabye a humbucker with coil tapping in the bridge and a P90 or humbucker in the neck, or two humbuckers with coil tapping) What do you suggest? and, how will a coil tapped humbucker sound like on a Les Paul type-guitar?
Body wood?
Neck wood?
Should it have a carved body? Maple top?

Should I get a Les Paul with coil tapping, or a Strat with a PAF type humbucker?

Thanks in advance

sphefx
Quote by blue_strat
Do you have $3000 handy, then?

No, but I recently got an acoustic built from this luthier, for $350.

This is possibly slightly more expensive, but I can't imagine it would be anything upwards of $700 . I'm not trying to get a Gibson American Les Paul quality guitar here - sorry should have mentioned that before.

Thanks for your answer
Last edited by sphefx at May 10, 2008,
uhm.. ok dude. If he's going to build you a custom les paul for $700 dollars, you may be very disappointed. Not for sure, but don't get your hopes up.
Enjoi <--- Friend me
Quote by Scowmoo
Otter, you're my new god.
A strat is ypically made out of alder with a maple neck, whereas an LP is usually all mahogany. Maybe an alder body/mahogany neck would do the trick? I have a Schecter that's mahogany/body and maple neck and it sounds nice.