Does someone qualify as being self-taught if you read the lessons on here and watch instructional videos on youtube?
I think so. I do just that but I consider myself self-taught. You're still choosing what videos you watch, etc. There isn't a teacher giving you stuff, you're taking it from a bunch of different 'teachers.'

[/not making sense]
Quote by Diet_coke_head
I love taking a nice dip of some horse shit, so good.
yes

you arent self tought when you have a teacher pretty much every step of the way

i self tought myself the basics and intermediate stuff, and now i have a teacher thats teching me more advanced techniques and theory
Quote by RedDeath9
Divinecrossfire...

Epic post. Wish I could say more, but I don't know much about the subconscious and other psychological stuff.
pretty much not having someone tell you how to do everything
if you sit at home and learn by yourself, tabs, youtube vids, little things on the internet, bits and pieces of stuff your friends do...thats self taught...having some dude hold your hand the whole way through means your not self taught...
Quote by Jack Off Jill
Better than hooked on crack, I suppose. I'd rather know my kids are safe at home beating their meat than out in the world robbing old women for their crack fix.

Quote by *sigh*
What a huge coincidence. I have a butthole also.
I think in todays times, there can be so many great self-taught players solely because of the internet. There are so many sites with articles, videos, diagrams, forums, etc to teach you soooo much. Im self taught, and i think im a decent player. One thing that i always found kinda hard to self teach yourself was theory.
im self tought so far....and now am using guitartricks.com....awesome site
ESP Eclipse with blackouts (Snow White)
Taylor 814ce (tabacco sunburst)
Dean Dime o Flage
Spider valve mkii
Fender Super Reverb
Peavey Vypyr 15