well first of all, i was trying to learn a song that required slapping on an open g string then hammering on a lot, but for some reason when i hit my thumb on the g string it does not slap. it is like a harmonic like not (not a tap harmonic, i tried in many difrent positions but they were all the same), and when i hammered on the note it actually did a natural harmonic noise (if i hammered on a c or d on the g string, it would make the harmonic of that fret). i tried this on another bass and i was fine, so it must be wrong with the guitar. you guys have any ideas what it could be??
Pop it instead?
I <3 bangoodcharlotte

Quote by humperdunk
one time i let my cat has cheezburger. i thought it was pretty funny.
Intonation is off, maybe? I dunno. Never heard of that happening before.
Quote by Marcel Veltman
Being a rather mediocre musician myself, I'm all on the hand of Haanz.

Guitar:
MIM '09 Fender Telecaster
Laney VC15-110 Old English White '10
Freshman FOP1DN Acoustic

Bass:
Ibanez SRX590
Laney RB4
Tech21 SansAmp BassDriver DI
Boss ODB-3
Quote by Mongoose87
Pop it instead?

well im playing a p-bass suiqer, so that might be it. but i cant pop it cause im trying to learn classical thump :S
Quote by bassbrotha
well im playing a p-bass suiqer, so that might be it. but i cant pop it cause im trying to learn classical thump :S

and if it helps, if i dont' hammer on and play any closed fret, it slaps normally
You generally do not slap on the D and G strings. And when you do, you are purposely trying to do a harmonic.

Slapping=E and A strings.
Popping=D and G strings.
The.
lol g string problem.

But seriously.

Slapping on the G string will do you no good. D and G strings are only good for popping. Slapping on them won't get you much of a sound because it's a thinner string.
"Acoustic Guitars are totally lame and not metal"- Nathan Explosion