How good is this for blues, mainly clapton, john mayall and the bluesbreakers like tones? not exact, but im a new guitarist, i won't be able to tell the difference between close and exact. anyways, I have a fender super champ xd, i am looking for something a little more simple, i can barely tell the difference between some of the settings, and the palomino is $100 cheaper, so that leaves room for pedals and accessories i need to buy. i have a fender mim hss strat.
also, if there is another better amp to get better tones, i am open to suggestions. would be nice if it were cheaper though. i know i can't expect to sound like clapton, since i suck and since my budget is so low, but i am talkign about best for the money
If you want clapton, look into a blackheart little giant.
Call me Wes.
Gear:
Fender American Deluxe HSS Strat
Chicago Blues Box Roadhouse
Bad Cat Cougar 5
1957 Gibson GA-5
Ceriatone 18w TMB Combo
Hughes & Kettner Tube Factor
Various Ibanez TS9s
Weber MASS Attenuator
would you say that is better than the fender super champ? it isn't much cheaper (actually it isn't at all since i got my super champ for 300 total) so its not like i would feel better about spending less money. yes, i am cheap, but once again, i know i get what i pay for.
Well, the fender super champ is definitely more versatile (being a modeler and all), but the Blackheart Little Giant will do Clapton better.
Call me Wes.
Gear:
Bad Cat Cougar 5
1957 Gibson GA-5
Ceriatone 18w TMB Combo
Various Ibanez TS9s
Weber MASS Attenuator
it turns out that versatility is not what i want, i can get enough of that just by choosing humbucker or single coils on my strat. i dont like all of the settings, the simpler the amp, the better. would the blackheart be better you thank than the epi vj and a couple of pedals?
The blackheart is a very british amp, which is great at getting old clapton tones.
It'd do fewer tones than the Super Champ, but it'll get better tones.