I was wondering... If you really enjoy bass and bass playing, is it a natural progression to take up double bass too? I like the idea of playing a 42Hz E note, and I'd like to broaden the genres of music I play too (except for classical).
dude do it! i urge you to! it totally widens your musical ability and sounds better with certain kinds of music
I wouldn't recommend an electric upright if you don't want the sound of an actual upright. They just can't compare.
Quote by Yerjam
Could be, but the most important thing to remember is that it wasn't your fault, even if it was.
You can get an electric upright for cheaper than that: http://www.thomann.de/gb/stagg_edb_3_4_tb.htm

I read a review for that and although it said it wasn't great it said it's a good cheap option for people who want to get into upright and is a better instrument than some that are more expensive.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
Rent an upright and take lessons.

These are the two things that everybody has to do.
* Nobody likes WootSticks
Quote by Ki'
Great. It's too bad a simple 4 string electric double bass costs €999+

I'll add it to the list......

999euros!!!
Here in Australia where everything is expensice i could get one for $1000AUD which is like 900euro
GEAR
Legend LP
Nylon Acoustic
Legend 10D Amp
Korg AX3G

flickr
I got my upright from ebay for $450 USD. It's made of plywood and sounds horrible but it works. Right now I'm saving up for something around 3000-4000. What I recommend is to get a fretless electric (with flatwound strings/high guage) and play around with that to get used to it first.
eh, you have to be careful

i got a 350$ plywood upright off of craigs list, and i love the sound of plywood, but ive had to spend a total of 250$ upgrading the parts that were complete ****