So ive been playing guitar for 4 years now, and ive always just learned songs that i like and ocassionally write some of my own stuff. I really want to take my playing to another level and learn lots of advanced techniques such. Im starting to work on learning theory as well. Could anyone recommend some techniques and such for me to learn. Also where i could get some stuff on learning these techniques. I'm already working on learning scales and such.
Gear:
  • Orange TH30
  • Framus Cobra 4x12
  • Gibson Les Paul Studio
  • Gibson Explorer
  • Taylor 214CE-G
Hmm well learning new songs is good. But Have you ever played with anyone else? I tend to believe that by playing with other people wtih a set goal makes you better. Just like basketball. Haha.

you play your best when you play with better people.
u could work on a technique like sweep picking or something legato maybe

seriously though 4 years and u didnt learn the scales?

did you at least learn to improv
" i saw these 2 girls kiss and i i got all horny and stuff"
Quote by IronBird Thor
u could work on a technique like sweep picking or something legato maybe

seriously though 4 years and u didnt learn the scales?

did you at least learn to improv

I never took lessons, and just learned off tabs and stuff, but yes i did learn to improv, where could i find some good sites for sweep picking and legato
Gear:
  • Orange TH30
  • Framus Cobra 4x12
  • Gibson Les Paul Studio
  • Gibson Explorer
  • Taylor 214CE-G
I've been playing 9 months and at this point I'm faster and more accurate than some peers who have 3+ years experience on me. Of course, I'm influenced by Vai/Satch/Gilbert and stuff and they listen to classic rock, but still.

As it is, get a metronome and do basic exercises until you have great technique, then get some speed. Start branching out w/ your musical tastes. Get into some innovative players like the aforementioned Vai/Satch/Gilbert and start coming up with your own licks.