Well i've been playing guitar for about 8 months and i want to start playing bass on the side. I need to save a lot for it, but i want to get an idea of what to get. I want something that i can slap/pop without too much difficulty because i would like to learn how to slap on a bass, not my guitar. I was looking at the 5-string ibanez GSR-205, then i looked at some 4-string Squiers. I'm not sure if i would rather have a P or J bass, i haven't had the chance to try them. Also, i would like some song suggestions for easy bass lines that don't sound like one note being played for 2 minutes, then change for the bridge, then back to that same note. I was also looking at a Peavey MAX 126 (im pretty sure thats what it was).

Any suggestions on the bass/amp/song are welcome.
Read the FAQ for bass and amp suggestions and the bass songs to learn thread. Any questions, then come back and post in this thread.

Stop thinking like a guitarist, btw. Its going to hinder your ability to be a decent bassist. Most bass lines are far more complex than what you have described.
I'm not thinking like a guitarist, i've just heard bass lines that sound like a more rhythm machine than the complex slapping of Flea or the fuzzy riffs of Muse's bassist. I have looked at (and played) bass lines on my guitar. I have even used finger picking with it. As for budget, probably anything around 350-400 or less. Not too expensive.
If you are just starting go with a 4-string and to help with slap and pop all you really need are really light strings
Yeah i was thinking getting a 5 string would be cool but i realized because im just starting, it might be better to get a 4 string. And please don't assume that just because i play guitar, i don't appreciate what other instrumentalists do.
Ill agree with the J bass recommendation for slapping but, i will bet that when you actually start playing, you be slapping about 5% of the time so dont base your choice on whether or not you can slap on it.