Well, I tried asking this in The Pit, but I mostly got jokes about masturbation ( go figure), so I was hoping someone here could help.

So last night, I played for somewhere between 3 - 4 hours streight, and when I woke up this morning my entire left hand was stiff and numb, almost like it was asleep. I moved my fingers a bit and it went back to normal, but still a little stiff. No pain.

Is that unusual?

In addition to being full-on numb when I wake up, it occasionally goes numb while I'm playing (mostly in the fingertips/mandibles). When I shake it out and relax it, the feeling usually goes away. It's just more pronounced when I first wake up.

I've been playing between 3 - 12 hours a day for about 3 years now, and the numbness has only started recently. I generally average 4 - 6 hours a day, if you include band practice.

Any thoughts?
-Guitar Gear-
1995 American Fender Strat, EMG 85 pup
Randall RH200 Head
Marshall 1960a Cab
Woods Acoustic
-Bass Gear-
Spector Legend 4 bass
Washburn Bantam bass
Hartke HA2500
Fender Bassman 410H
Play what you love, love what you play
Try masturbating less.

Ahahaha, just kidding. Okay, not funny. Erm... are you sure this is guitar related? Because I think that if it was, it would have started happening sooner.
Quote by rebelmidget
I do believe you just used Blink 182 and hard rock in the same sentence. It would seem you're rather confused.
I have a quote in my signature! And it makes fun of blink-182! I'm cool now!

[Obligatory link to my band's MySpace]
sounds like a circulation problem. it happens to my sometimes when i play as well. some cardio exercise should actually help with that. its all about blood flow.
happens dude if you think about it 3-12 hours of constant working on your hands and fingers is pretty harsh not to say dont do it, its just the pain that comes with the pleasure man keep on going
maybe you slept on your hand to much or something and caused a nerve to sever (not sure if thats how you spell it)