Hey i'm new to this so i just wanted to know where to start.I've learned a little about the frets,strings ,guitar part names {lol} yeah and a little about left and right hand techniques.

Could someone direct me to the basic basics or just help me out in what i'm to learn step by step?
i'll tell you how i started out, round 2 1/2 years ago.. just find some songs that you like. depending on what genre's you like, this could be easy, or very very difficult. at the time i liked pop/punk type stuff and that's just powerchords, so i learned those first, make sure you really stick with whatever you choose to do though, the beginning is the hardest i'd say
Member #14 of the "Claudio Sanchez is god" Club.

My Gear:
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Epiphone G-400
Fender Precision Bass
Ibanez Exotic Wood Acoustic
Crate BX-15
Crate Palomino V16
Proco Rat 2
Dunlop 353q Crybaby
well it depends.Mainly on why style of music your wanting to play and what you want to accomplish as a guitarist. I started off Learning simple songs to build strength and dextierity in the fingers.
make sure you learn how to hold your pick correctly. some people want to "pinch" their pick when they first start, which makes alternate picking a mess, and have to re-learn how to pick strings.

i made this mistake haha
Vociferance

Halcyon

Quote by dead-fish
OMGZ! Chuck shuldingr iz teh master conspiraiter!

Quote by jakekilgore666
sean hart i love your avatar
i can only suggest one thing...TABS!!!
Quote by bass-boy-garith
Quote by guitarhero_764
I guess I'm kind of like a hippie. I'm anti-war, do drugs, and like communism.
Your not a hippie, just a ****ing moron.
Learn all of the open chords, find easy songs that you enjoy that use said chords. Get comfortable playing all of the chords and switching between them.
Well here are a few things you will want to do more than likely before you move on to more advanced techniques.