OK, so I've been playing for a little over 3 years now and haven't had a teacher. I can play most things fine, but I have problems when it comes to doing anything somewhat fast. I've noticed it's mostly when there's a solo that switches strings a lot and is pretty quick. I get extremely sloppy and in some cases I just can't keep up. While I was pondering why I can't play as fast, I noticed that when I play, the fingers I'm not immediately using (current or next note) tend to be pretty far off the strings. I have the tendancy to curl my pinky when it's not being used and my other fingers come a good 3/4-1" off the strings. That just seems extremely unnecessary and if I could get it down to keeping all my fingers barely off the strings when they're not being used I think I could play much faster and up to the correct speed.

So, I tried just slowing it all the way down and consciously keeping them close to the strings but it's hard even then. I guess 3+ years of bad habits and muscle memory have come back to haunt me. Is there a way to help break this habit or am I just going to have to suck it up and completely retrain my fingers?