Ive been playing for a little over two years now and Im at the point where Im starting to get pretty decent. Im curious about the way I hold the pick though. I hold it between the tips of my thumb and index and have them extended. In all the instructional videos and books ive seen they always say it should be held rested on the side of the index and curled it. If you dont know what I mean watch this video that I found http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0GAFLZsHmKs the first technique is the one in books and what he shows at the end is basically what I do. The book method feels realy akward for me. (cant spell)

So the question is, can the way I hold it hinder me at all? I have trouble strumming fast, and I cant pick very fast either (16th notes at 80 Bpm is the fastest I can pick).

Thanks for suggestions.
"Good and evil lay side by side as electric love penetrates the sky"
I have a friend that used to hold it with 3 fingers, but changed to the "book way". He did improve his picking after getting used to it, so you might want to try it as well (maybe just for a week to check it out). Obviously it's really what you feel comfortable with, but as you said yourself you can't strum/pick that fast, just give it a try. (But I'm sure you could learn how to pick fast with any technique).
“If there are no stupid questions, then what kind of questions do stupid people ask? Do they get smart just in time to ask questions?”
- Scott Adams

No they don't, and UG is proof...
yeah its way easy when its tucked in like that. Its probably really holding you back.
i think the way you hold your pick is preferential honestly if you feel awkward one way then dont do it, i dont think it will hinder you at all, but this is coming from a guy who constantly switchs holdiong postions for different speeds so i dont get hindered easily lol, but i cant f'ing sweep