Hey guys..I'm not an expert on resonance...
I work in a machine shop. I get to use scrap metal
to play with sometimes..So i had an idea..

If i was to take a 1/2 inch thick sheet of metal and
traced the body of a guitar on to it....cut it out...
and bolted it to the body of the guitar...

In theory...how would that affect the tone?
or would it not effect it at all...

Im guessing it would weigh...2 to 3 lbs..
I bet Charlie Brown's teacher's name was Mrs.Hammett
It would make it sound alot tinnier I think. And it may affect your pickups it being metal? What metal is it?
it might have an affect on resonance a little... but it shouldn't affect the pickips. I dont think ti would mess with the magnentic field of yourn pickups that much, if at all... just cause something is metal doesn't mean that it can change a magnentic field...

which is how pickups work by the way
-------------------------------
Faded Gibson SG Special - Black ice mod
Seymour Duncan SH-5 in bridge
B-52 AT 112
Ted Weber Mass100 attenuator
EHX Small Clone
EHX Metal Muff
DIY Modded tubescreamer
Dunlop 535Q Wah
Wax Potting tutorial
I was thinking it Would Be a Pretty 'Metal' guitar. :P
Metal!!!/COLOR]<br><br>
Gear:
LTD M-200FM
Marshall JCM 2000 DSL 50.
Ibanez SZ720FM
Boss MT-2 MetalZone
Boss GE-7
Zoom II Effects Pedal
Not entirely sure, but I've heard that installing a bigsby (heavy piece of cr@p) does add some sustain. Can anyone confirm?
I think it would depend on the material used, mainly the density. I read somewhere that denser materials resonate less, which reduces the parasitic loss from the string vibration. This causes the strings to vibrate longer, which increases sustain. Why not try it and let us know how it sounds?